Search the net from here

Surigao del Norte, The Philippines

This page will give you more information about the environment, history, religion and culture of the people of Surigao.

General overview
Twenty seven municipalities and a city make up the province of Surigao del Norte. These are scattered in the many islands and islets of the province which is on the northeastern tip of Mindanao.

Surigao City, the provincial capital, has an airport and a wharf, both servicing commercial passengers. Thus, the city is dubbed as "Gateway to Mindanao". Aside from mainland Surigao, there are three major islands to discover - Dinagat Island, Bucas Grande, and Siargao Island.

Airport of Surigao City

The province of Surigao has a land area of 2,740.14 square km. It has vast reserves of nickel, gold, chromium, iron, gravel and sand, limestone and silica. Its agricultural products include rice, coconut, and root crops. The waters surrounding the province provide an enormous supply of exotic fish, shellfish, and other marine products.

Surigao City is the place to enjoy the beauty that abounds in Nature. Its natural scene, cool and peaceful atmosphere truly provide a comfortable retreat from the hustle & bustle of big city life.

City park

Geographic location
Surigao City is located in the Northeastern position of Mindanao, 9? to 10? North latitude and 125? to 126? East longitude. It is bounded by Dinagat Island on the North; mainland of Surigao del Norte on the South; Hinatuan passage on the East; Surigao strait and Southern Leyte on the West.

Map of Surigao del Norte

The prevailing climate in the city falls under type II, with no definite dry season but with a very pronounced maximum rainfall from November to January. Its average annual rainfall is 3,673.8 millimeters based on 50 year period. The city is considered one of the "wettest" in the country with an average of 216 rainy days per year. Humidity level is 85% with an average temperature of 26.9? C.

Land area and Topography
The city has a total land area of 245.34 km? and a jurisdictional area of 690.37 km?. It has 32 mainland and 21 island barangays. The city proper is divided into three major barangays namely; Brgys. Washington, Taft, and San Juan. Its 21 island barangays are distributed among the 17 islands and islets within the city's jurisdictional area.

The city's physical make up is generally characterized by an irregular or hilly topography and has an elevation level of 65.5 feet above sea level.

Based on the National Statistics Office survey, the population of Surigao City is 79,745 in 1980, 94,453 in 1985, and in 1990, 100,379. That means it has a growth rate of 1,22% from the year 1985 to 1990.

It is a predominantly young population, with a median age of 17. Its distribution is 50.45% urban and 49.53% rural. Population density in 1990 is 409 persons per square km.

Picture taken near the harbor

City Hall

Visit the Dreamland Link page
With Oanda Currency Converter.

If you have comments
mail them to me

Free counter and web stats
Provided by ©jwjgendt 2009